Astroimaging Special Interest Group

About this SIG

For those who have a camera and are wondering what they can do with it as far as shooting the sky is concerned, the AAAP Astroimaging group may be for you. The group is an informal cadre of folks with interests in imaging the sky with everything from baby moon hub caps to CCD cameras. Our main venue of exchange is via e-mail and at various, sometimes hastily agreed upon, meetings under the stars (usually. Some daytime meetings may occur as well but if you're interests are more or less Solar exclusive then be sure to talk to Larry McHenry too. He chairs the AAAP Solar SIG). This Special Interest Group (SIG) was created to bring together individuals who are interested in the imaging of astronomical phenomena through virtually any means. Our aim is to share our individual experiences and enrich the group as a whole. The group is composed of members who have: taken photographic images through telescopes as well as simple camera lenses, used cold cameras and gas hypered film, taken guided images (some approaching 1.5 hrs in duration) worked with both color/B&W slide/negative film. We also have individuals who have used CCD cameras and are in the process of building a "cook book" camera for the AAAP. We currently have no members who are interested in radio astronomy, but would welcome them.

Chair(s)

Mark Arelt Chuck Kollar (CCD)
DIAPSIDA@aol.com chuck@kollar.com
  Website
Copernicus Kintaro Observatory
Sample CCD Images
All types of film-based astroimaging and digital image manipulation thereof My interest is in automated astronomy, currently automated supernova searches to be conducted at the Copernicus Kintaro Observatory when it is fully automated. To this end I have designed and built an Observatory Dome Automation Package and instrumentation.

Current Members

Nick Martch mh44ngm@yahoo.com
Jeff Pelkofer jpems+@pitt.edu
Frank Wielgussparrow@usaor.net
William (Chris) Erler WErler@aol.com
Ed Honkuseshonkus@juno.com
Randy ShafferRAN375@aol.com
Ed Mossemoss@stargate.net
David A. Burkhard dabrkard@ix.netcom.com
Wayne PeternelWaynepeternel@aol.com
Ed Mossemoss@stargate.net
Mike Frynkewwiczmandr@mrepair.com
Bob FloridaTelescopio@MSN.com
Andrew Pottarcognit@nb.net
Jerry Zhuzhuxj@cs.cmu.edu
Vern Coxnitavern@stargate.net
Adrian Vergotvergot@adelphia.net
Jason Sheakleyastroman25@hotmail.com
John Panepane+aaap@cs.cmu.edu
Hank Jaffehejst3+@pitt.edu

Features